Governor Abbott Extends Quarantine to 10 States, Including Louisiana

Mandatory Self-Quarantine for Travelers From Louisiana To Be Lifted May 1

in Coronavirus Updates

The mandatory self-quarantine order for travelers from Louisiana to Texas will be lifted on Friday.

According to an executive order signed on Monday by Texas Governor Greg Abbott, those travelers from the City of New Orleans or the State of Louisiana will no longer need to quarantine upon entering the state. Checkpoints have been in place since April 5, 2020.

Abbott’s order Monday will also immediately terminate any current quarantines for those who had traveled from Louisiana into Texas.

Changes will take effect on Friday, May 1, 2020.

Travelers from states such as California, Connecticut, New York, New Jersey, Washington, Atlanta, Chicago, Detroit, and Miami will still be subject to a mandatory self-quarantine for 14 days from the time they enter Texas.

The order did not explicitly mention the end of checkpoints along the Texas and Louisiana border.

Join Orange County local Scoop
Your access and special offers will be sent to your inbox