Governor Abbott Extends Quarantine to 10 States, Including Louisiana

Governor Abbott Extends Quarantine to 10 States, Including Louisiana

in Coronavirus Updates/Government

Texas Governor Greg Abbott has expanded previous travel-related executive orders to include more states and cities within the United States.

On March 26, Gov. Greg Abbott had instituted a mandatory self-quarantine period for people visiting from several areas hard hit by the coronavirus in the United States.

Under the original executive orders, airline travelers from New York, New Jersey, Connecticut and the city of New Orleans into Texas would have to self-quarantine for 14 days. Abbott has now changed the mandatory self-quarantine to include travelers coming from Atlanta, Chicago, Detroit, Miami and the states of California, Louisiana, and Washington.

The Texas Department of Public Safety began administering the program Saturday at noon. Travelers must fill out DPS forms and be subject to follow-up check-ins from troopers. The quarantines are for 14 days, or the duration of the stay in Texas, whichever is shorter, Abbott said.

Violators face fines up to $1,000, up to 180 days in jail, “or both,” Abbott said.

The full executive order can be found here.

Join Orange County local Scoop
Your access and special offers will be sent to your inbox